I had a day off the other day, shocking isn’t it?

I had some cabbage I needed to do something with, so I started looking up Kim-chi recipe’s

We don’t have Asian or Korean markets close by so some of the ingredients were not readily available to me, so I decided to make it my way.

I make a Sriracha pickle that is to die for!  Adapted the recipe and here’s what I came up with.

Sriracha Cabbage…

Sriracha Cabbage

Recipe:

2 head Cabbage ( I used one white and one purple)

2 quart Mason Jar

8 Cups white vinegar

4 cups sugar

1/4 to 1/2 cup Sriracha Chili Sauce

3 Tbs minced garlic

2 Tbs chili flakes

1 Tbs celery seed

1/2 Cup salt

Core and quarter cabbage separate leaves and put in a large bowl add 1/2 cup of salt and let sit 1 hour. (this make the cabbage crunchy as well as helps preserve it)

Rinse thoroughly and pack into clean 2 quart mason jars

Mix all the remaining ingredients in a pour-able container making sure sugar is completely dissolved

Pour mixture over cabbage making sure it gets all the way to the bottom, cover and shake to make sure it evenly distributed.

Let sit on the counter for 2 days or longer until desired fermentation and spiciness.

We are enjoying this, I just had some with cheese and crackers.

Sriracha Cabbage

Sriracha Cabbage

 

Unbelievably good!

Adjust the spice and heat to your taste, if you like blow your head off spicy add more Sriracha and chili flakes.  This recipe is mildly spicy with just enough sugar balance to not set your mouth on fire:)

~Real Housewives of Maine